Lewis Poche - Engineering Management Student & Band Member

  • Name: Lewis Poche

  • Education: Sophomore Engineering Management Student at Southern Methodist University Hometown: Baton Rouge, LA
  • Target Audience: Elementary School, Middle School, and High School

Why did you choose your major? Did you always know this is what you wanted to do? 
I chose EMIS because I always liked thinking about the systems behind things. Seeing the puzzle pieces coming together and logistically figuring out how large corporations operate intrigued me. I chose Philosophy because it’s critical thinking from a different point of view than engineering - you analyze the writings of someone and look at it from a qualitatitve standpoint. At the end of it, they’re both critical thinking, just different ways. I came into SMU undecided engineering, and I took intro to EMIS, and I picked up philosophy last semester.   

What is your main role on your team?
I'm on drumline. Drumline specifically is a very close group of poeple, and we spend a lot of time together. I personally develop one-on-one relationships with the freshmen in my section so that they have an upperclassman friend on campus that knows how to guide them. 


What does your average day look like? (Class, practice, games, etc.)
There's no such thing as an average day for me. I'm involved in a bunch of different clubs, so there's random meetins throughout the week. I spend a lot of time in class, balancing sleep, my social life, and my extracurriculars. Academics is my priority; I don't know if I spend as much time on it as a should, but I'll definitely cut other things if my academic standing drops. We practice for band less than we did in high school. We practice 5 hours a week, and I don't really practice outside of that. 

Do you apply what you learn in the classroom on the field/court?
I look at my extracurricular activities from a critical point of view and try to see where we could eliminate any inefficiencies. 

What's been your biggest sacrifice trying to do it all (school, sports, family, etc.)?
I've mostly had to sacrifice my social life with band in particular. Friday and Saturday nights are busy in the fall semester for band, and when we don't have home games, other things have my weekends booked. I haven't seen a lot of my non-band friends in a long time. 

Where do you see yourself in 5-10 years?
I see myself maintaining a work/family/social balance. I would like to work for Southwest Airlines doing operations research or for a consulting company.

Do you have any suggestions for how kids can balance STEM interests and music interests? Any courses you can recommend students to take before college?
Look at music as a break from STEM. They both engage two different sides of your brain, so you don't get tired from either. While you're using the music side of your brain, you're charging the other!

What was your favorite class growing up? 
I really enjoyed my senior year English class. I hated English up until then, but I tried to dive into it that year, and it was pretty cool! I didn't realize how much time writers put into things until my teacher drew connections between things. I now appreciate the complexity of books! 

Are you a first generation college student?

When did you start playing your instrument?
I started playing piano when I was 7 or 8, and then I did mallet percussion throughout high school, and I started on drumline here at SMU.  

What's a fun fact about you?
I carry around Cajun Seasoning with me everywhere I go.